Your contribution

I live in my own bubble; a bubble where all I can see is suffering, despite my efforts to keep morale high. I read the news, watch the television and acknowledge ghost smiles. I feel disconsolate. 

I drown in the disappointment I have for myself and society as a whole on a daily basis. If we were all just a little bit more compassionate and empathetic, half of the problems in this world wouldn’t exist. Instead of taking responsibility for each member of society to tackle our first world problems, we choose to ignore these problems and live in our own little bubbles of oblivion. We give up on our world, before we even attempt to approach the problems in society. 

Last week I registered to become an organ donor, but I still feel disappointed in myself- I am one donor, and I can only help one patient. I cannot help everyone, and this fact deeply saddens me.

It is difficult to make a positive change in the world when you are standing alone, so I ask you, what can you do to positively contribute to the world…. And why are you not doing it now?

Leave a Reply

